his parole or commits a further offence or misbehaves in any manner, the Board may revoke his parole and return him to the institution to serve that part of his sentence outstanding at the time his parole was granted. If a parolee commits an indictable offence, his parole is automatically forfeited and he is returned to the institution to serve the unexpired balance of his sentence plus any new term to which he is sentenced for the commission of the new offence. The regional officer may also issue a Warrant of Suspension and have a parolee placed in custody if it is necessary to prevent a breach of any term or condition of the parole. These officers are thus able to exercise effective and adequate control over all parolees in their respective areas.

During the seven years of its operation, the Parole Board has granted parole to 14,169 inmates. Of these 1,571 were returned to prison but only 779 of them forfeited their paroles for commission of an indictable offence; the other 792 had their paroles revoked for misbehaviour or a minor offence. Thus there has been a success rate of almost 90 p.c., over the seven-year period, of men and women who have succeeded in abiding by the terms of their parole.

Section 5.—Police Forces and Crime Statistics

Organization of Police Forces.—The police forces of Canada are organized in three groups: (1) the federal force, which is the Royal Canadian Mounted Police; (2) provincial police forces—the Provinces of Ontario and Quebec have their own provincial police forces but all other provinces engage the services of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police to perform parallel functions within their borders; and (3) municipal police forces—most urban centres of reasonable size maintain their own police force or engage the services of the provincial police, under contract, to attend to police matters. In addition, the Canadian National Railways, the Canadian Pacific Railway Company and the National Harbours Board have their own police forces.

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police.—The Royal Canadian Mounted Police is a civil force maintained by the Federal Government. It was established in 1873 as the North-West Mounted Police for service in what was then the North-West Territories and, in recognition of its services, was granted the use of the prefix "Royal" by King Edward VII in 1904. Its sphere of operations was expanded in 1918 to include all of Canada west of Port Arthur and Fort William and in 1920 it absorbed the Dominion Police, its headquarters was transferred from Regina to Ottawa and its title was changed to Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

The Force is under the control of the Solicitor General of Canada and is headed by a Commissioner who holds the rank and status of a Deputy Minister. Officers are commissioned by the Crown and are selected from the non-commissioned ranks. The Force has complete jurisdiction in the enforcement of the federal statutes. By arrangement between the federal and provincial governments, it enforces the provincial statutes and the Criminal Code in all provinces exclusive of Ontario and Quebec and under special agreement it polices some 122 municipalities. It is the sole police force in the Yukon and Northwest Territories, where it also performs various administrative duties on behalf of certain departments of the Federal Government. It maintains liaison officers in London and Washington and represents Canada in the International Criminal Police Organization, which has headquarters in Paris.

Of the Force's 17 divisions, 12 are actively engaged in the work of law enforcement, as are some 43 subdivisions and 638 detachments. The five remaining divisions are "Head-quarters", "Depot" and "N", which are maintained as training centres, and "Marine" and